NineChime forum

Furry stuff, oekaki stuff, and other stuff.

You are not logged in.

#1 08-23-2022 01:00:41

spellbot

PaintBBS NEO + running Java applets with CheerpJ

I learned of an oekaki BBS template, POTI-board EVO, that implements some newer drawing apps like PaintBBS NEO (an HTML5 conversion of PaintBBS) and Klecks, as well as using CheerpJ to run Shi-Painter in modern browsers. I really don't want to part with Wacintaki's features, though, so I tried to see if I could get some of those things working in Wacintaki.

Disclaimer: I am not a programmer, so please forgive any egregious formatting/coding crimes. I just cross-referenced a lot of different files from various sources and tested things over the course of a few days until they worked.

Converting Shi-Painter with CheerpJ

Edit shiBBS.php and paste the following somewhere within the <head> tags. (Source of this code snippet is POTI-board. Also keep in mind that CheerpJ is free only for noncommercial use.)

Code:

<script>
    function cheerpJLoad() {
    var jEnabled = navigator.javaEnabled();
    if(!jEnabled){
    var sN = document.createElement("script");
    sN.src = "https://cjrtnc.leaningtech.com/2.3/loader.js";
    var s0 = document.getElementsByTagName("script")[0];
    s0.parentNode.insertBefore(sN, s0);
    sN.addEventListener("load", function(){ cheerpjInit(); }, false);
    }
    }
    window.addEventListener("load", function() { cheerpJLoad(); }, false);
    </script>

You can also get animations to work by doing the same in viewani.php. (For novelty/nostalgia purposes, you could also do the same in oekakiBBS.php. I found the .jar for OekakiBBS v2.64 bundled with an old version of OekakiPoteto, and it seems to work.) The applet takes a few seconds to load, but drawing/submitting/retouching/etc. work as intended. For whatever reason, submitting images doesn't work in the CheerpJ-converted PaintBBS applet, which is where PaintBBS NEO comes in.

Getting PaintBBS NEO to work